the collegiate transition: bitter or sweet?

The only thing that people have been talking about during the entire month of May is college.  People want to know where you’re going.  People want to know what you’re majoring in.  People want to know when your graduation party is so they can visit and tell you how much they’ll miss you.  You eventually develop an automated answer to all of these questions, and display no emotion whatsoever while reciting them.  But deep down, this is an emotional time.  After high school, you may not see any of the countless idiots from your class ever again.  You’ll never be forced to set foot in that wretched place they call a school ever again.  You get to move on, start fresh.  OR, you may lose touch with the people you were closest with.  You may never walk through the halls of the building that you had so much pride for.  You have to leave everything behind, start over.  It’s a matter of perspective.  Some people are dying to leave and some are wishing time hadn’t gone by so fast.  But how are you supposed to feel?

Don’t spend to much time worrying about what’s going to happen in three months.  No matter how much you fantasize how incredible college is going to be, time won’t move any faster.  And don’t be too upset that high school is over, either.  You probably made some unforgettable memories, and no matter how much time passes those memories will still be there for you to go back to.  My best advice for a recent graduate: Enjoy one of the last summers you could ever have with the people you love.

Seriously though, has it hit anyone yet that we don’t get summers off for the rest of our life?  I’m going to be an engineer and I am fully aware that this is my second-to-last summer ever.  I don’t care about college right now, and I’ll miss high school, but I’m done with it.  I’m going to spend this summer doing everything I haven’t had the chance to do yet in my life.  I’m going to hang out with as many people as I can, and I’m going to be with my closest friends as much as possible.  I’m going to ensure that when I’m 50 years old I can look back and say I did everything I could before my professional life started.  Nothing will be taken for granted.

This summer is about you.  It’s a giant goodbye and you get to dictate how sincere it is.  The countdown to adulthood is almost up and your time is more valuable than ever.  Cherish every second.

Tags: ,

About commonblogic

I'm just a college student trying to organize my cluttered mind.

2 responses to “the collegiate transition: bitter or sweet?”

  1. Lana: Living with Post Concussion Syndrome says :

    Congratulations. Transitions are always bittersweet. There is so much relief about the next step but it also brings a bit of anxiety regarding the unknown.

Leave a Reply

